Welcome to a person no one knows about critiquing things you really have strong opinions on!!! This is sure to last... *tumbleweed*
Well my girlfriend and I are in disagreement. The fabric of our relationship is tearing apart at the seams!... ... ... We don't like the same late night comedy shows!!! NoooOOoOOOOooooooOOOoooooo /darthvader
Anyways. Let's begin with the political two, Jon and Stephen.
Stephen is the younger of the two and the more eccentric, in my opinion. His comedy, like Jon's is based around hyperbole (using a personality trait or something about someone and exaggerate it). The main difference between the two is that Stephen uses a lot of physical and vocal selling. Now by selling a joke, I mean he does more than necessary. His writers are good, but my philosophy on jokes is that if a joke is good, the delivery doesn't have to be too forced. Think of Jerry Seinfeld, he yelled now and then, but most of the time his jokes were in normal sentences.
Moving on to Jon, again his writers are gud, but I like how he will wait for a joke to set in, he will deliver with subtle gestures. Like many comedians, you have to believe in your own jokes and once in a while you can hear him laughing at his own jokes (or his writer's jokes, anyways).
I enjoy both shows, but Jon seems to appeal more to my type of humor.
Now I really enjoy someone my girlfriend doesn't like. Conan O'Brien. Which is funny, because if I recall, she's part Irish. And Conan is 100% Irish. Okay that's a lie. How about he looks 100% Irish. And my girlfriend likes to hit me like an Irish person. Jokingly *covers black eye*
Anyways!! I really like Conan's style because he seems genuinely real about his show. When a joke bombs, he makes fun of it, and gets a laugh anyways. I like how he add libs jokes now and then but doesn't try to make it a joke, he'll move on quickly which is the joy of comedy, the fluidity! The non-scripted parts. Also it's always fun to see him interact with the guests.
Now I'll admit sometimes he does get annoying. He has the artist complex where they make fun of themselves tooo much. I also don't like when they incorperate the audience or the band into the show...
Anyways, all said, my girlfriend and I have had make-up se... I mean we've looked past our differences and enjoy our shows together. Well mostly hers... But you know, it's okay...
jk.
Wednesday, September 3, 2008
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
